Preliminary Workshop to Mathematical Studies

September 6, 2020

From our experience many students struggle with their mathematical studies during the first semester. Some struggle because they don’t remember enough of the mathematics they learned in high school and some because the language of mathematics is foreign to them.

In order to resolve these difficulties we offer a “preliminary workshop to mathematical studies“.  We highly recommend prospective students to attend this worshop, more details here.

The Einstein Institute Undergraduate Workshop 2020

August 2, 2020

The Einstein Institute of Mathematics will hold a ten-day workshop for outstanding undergraduates in 2020, from Monday August 2 to Thursday August 13.

The goal of the workshop is to introduce outstanding talented undergraduate students to advanced topics in mathematics and research level thinking. The workshop will be centered around a full course "Numbers, Graphs and Codes" by Alex Lubotzky, and four minicourses given by Professors Itay Kaplan, Ruth Lawrence-Naimark, Cy Maor, and Ari Shnidman.

Prof. David Kazhdan awarded the 2020 Shaw Prize

May 21, 2020

Congratulations to Prof. David Kazhdan recipient of the 2020 Shaw Prize.

The prize was awarded to Prof. Kazhdan and Prof. Beilinson (Chicago) by the Shaw Prize Foundation
"for their huge influence on and profound contributions to representation theory, as well as many other areas of mathematics."

Prof. Karim Adiprasito awarded the 2020 EMS Prize

May 8, 2020

Congratulations to Prof. Karim Adiprasito recipient of the 2020 EMS Prize.

Every four years, the European Mathematical Society awards 10 EMS Prizes. The EMS Prizes are awarded “to young researchers not older than 35 years, of European nationality or working in Europe, in recognition of excellent contributions in  mathematics.”

Usually awarded during the European Congress of Mathematics, the names of the EMS Prizewinners have been announced, since the Congress has been postponed to 2021.

Abel in Jerusalem day

January 23, 2020

The Abel in Jerusalem day at Einstein Institute of mathematics took place on January 12, with excellent talks by C. Hacon, F. Labourie, U. Tillmann, C. Voisin.