Landau Lectures

The Landau lecture series is an annual series of three lectures by a distinguished mathematician on a subject of his choice. One lecture is usually made accessible to the university scientific community at large, and the two other lectures are often more specialized.

Recordings of previous lectures (youtube)

Prof. Edmund Landau was a prominent German mathematician who spent most of his career in the University of Göttingen. He received his Ph.D. in 1899, focusing in his research on analytic number theory and quickly becoming a leading expert in the field. He was among the founders of the Hebrew University and Einstein institute, contributing to the initial syllabus and teaching in the institute for one year in 1928. Due to personal and academic circumstances he returned to Berlin the following year, where he was forced to retire in 1938 by the Nazi regime. He passed away the same year.

For more information:



Previous Speakers

2019 Luc Illusie (University of Paris-Sud)

2017 Jean-Michel Bismut (Université Paris-Sud)

2017 Jacob Tsimerman (University of Toronto) 

2016 Ravi Vakil (Stanford University) 

2014 Gang Tian (Princeton University and Peking University) 

2011 Helmut Hofer (School of Mathematics, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton) 

2009/10 William B. Johnson (Texas A&M University, USA) 

2008/9 Paul Rabinowitz (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
It all began with Moser...

2007/8 Percy Deift (New York University)
Universality for mathematical and physical systems

2006/7 Benoit Perthame (Ecole Normale Supérieure, Paris, France) 

2005/6 Jean Bourgain (Institute For Advanced Study, Princeton, USA)
The sum-product phenomenon and applications

2004/5 Hans Föllmer (Humboldt University, Berlin)
Probablilistic aspects of financial risk

2003/4 Jeff Cheeger (Courant Institute, N.Y.U.)
The small scale structure of Riemannian manifolds

2002/3 Stefan Müller (Max-Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences, Leipzig) 

2001/2 Y. Eliashberg (Stanford University, I.A.S.)
Three examples from symplectic topology

2000/1 Dennis Sullivan (City College (CUNY), New York ; SUNY at Stony Brook)
Fluids, quanta and strings

1999-2000 Elliott H. Lieb (Princeton University) 

1998/9 Alain Connes (IHES) 

1997/8 Peter Sarnak (Princeton University)
Zeros of zeta functions and applications to arithmetic 

1996/7 Stefan Hildebrandt (Univ. Bonn) 

1995/6 William P. Thurston (Cornell University)
Three-dimensional geometry and topology

1994/5 Pierre-Louis Lions (Ceremade, Univ. de Paris IX)
Non-linear partial differential equations and applications

1993/4 Y.G. Sinai (Princeton University ; Landau Institute of Theoretical Physics, Moscow)
Non-linear PDE and probability theory

1992/3 Enrico Bombieri (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton)
Prime numbers in arithmetic progressions

1991/2 Jürgen Moser (E.T.H. Zürich)